2018 Preservation Merit Awards

Call for Nominations

Nomination Deadline: Friday, December 15, 2017 5PM

For over 40 years, Historic Albany Foundation has preserved and protected buildings that have architectural, historic or civic value, by providing technical assistance, education, and advocacy. Since 1976, Historic Albany has given annual awards for projects, individuals and organizations that demonstrate excellence and a commitment to preservation techniques and initiatives. 

All awardees have acted as examples of best practices for preservation within the City of Albany and surrounding Albany County. Historic Albany Foundation is thrilled to recognize these projects, individuals and organizations who have demonstrated a strong commitment to Albany’s historic architecture, often in the face of serious challenges. 

Award winning projects exemplify the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Preserving, Rehabilitating, Restoring and Reconstructing Historic Properties or guidelines for adaptive reuse; and have inspired other preservation efforts.  All projects must be within Albany County and fully complete by the application deadline.  Self-nominations are accepted with the exception of Certificates of Recognition or Preservation Leadership Awards.  Lifetime Achievement Awards are awarded at Historic Albany’s discretion.

Award Categories

Preservation Merit Award winning projects are outstanding examples of restoration, rehabilitation or adaptive reuse that inspire other preservation efforts and serve as a model for best practices.  These projects often utilize incentives such as the New York State and Federal Rehabilitation Tax Credits and overcome several challenges such as vacancy, severe deterioration, development or demolition pressure, or financial hardship.  

Preservation Initiative Award winning projects are commendable preservation efforts in which property owners deliberately chose to use historic building materials and techniques, often more time-consuming/labor intensive methods, or to spend more money to be true to the historic character and maintain the architectural integrity of the property.

Stewardship Award provides recognition typically to an organization for continued efforts in maintaining and restoring a historic structure or landscape (i.e. cemetery, park conservancy) through financial, organizational or physical challenges.  

Main Street Award gives recognition for downtown or “Main Street” revitalization efforts.  These projects “bucks the trend” of commercial activities moving to the suburbs and takes the perceived substantial risk of (re)locating in the city core or at the key Main Street locations in struggling neighborhoods. 

Elizabeth P. Griffin Award for Preservation Leadership recognizes the efforts of an individual or organization that consistently goes above and beyond to promote best practices in preservation and is a leader in Albany preservation efforts.

Certificate of Recognition acknowledges individuals, organizations or businesses who have made a noteworthy contribution to local preservation efforts.

Sustainable Cities Award applauds the implementation of important urban planning concepts such as successful building reuse, maintaining/recreating density in downtown, and sustainable/green efforts which are not restoration or rehabilitation projects, but are clearly in line with preservation ideals and Historic Albany’s advocacy efforts.

Inspiration in Preservation Award presented by the Young Preservationists of the Capital Region recognizes the efforts of a young person who has made a substantial impact on the community and preservation in Albany in general.  Historic Albany does not accept nominations for this award it is selecte .

Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the long-term efforts of someone who has made a substantial impact on the community and preservation in Albany in general.  Often having been involved in multiple preservation efforts through in-kind or pro-bono services, professional skills, leadership or advocacy efforts.  
Historic Albany does not accept nominations for this award and gives this award at the Foundation’s discretion.

2018 Preservation Merit Award Nomination Form

Nominations must be received by Friday, December 15, 2017 at 5pm and must include all supporting materials.  Nominations are reviewed and awards determined by Historic Albany’s Preservation/Advocacy Committee.  Not every category may have an award each year.

2017 Preservation Merit Award Winners