Historic Albany Foundation is pleased to announce the Winners of the BUILT Art Prizes, given at the BUILT art show on November 5, 2016.   Thank you to our judges, Tammis Groft, Executive Director of the Albany Institute of History and Art and Alana Sparrow from The Foundry for Art Design & Culture.   Also, thank you to Breathing Lights/Bloomberg Philanthropies Public Art Project; the National Trust for Historic Preservation; the families of Dean Moore, Nancy Lawton and Nancy Hyatt Liddle and to the BUILT Event Committee for their selection of prizes. 

The Nancy Hyatt Liddle “Best in Show” Prize is dedicated to the memory of the Mrs. Liddle, who passed away in 2004She was the Director of the University at Albany Art Museum from 1977 through 1992 and was widely known as a supporter and board member of many community organizations, notably Historic Albany Foundation, Albany Institute of History & Art, and the Olana Historic Site.  Her dedication and commitment to the area’s regional artists and the art scene has left an enduring legacy for the Capital Region.  Her husband, Chuck Liddle, continues to be an active Advisory Council member and has kept her memory alive with Historic Albany.  The 2016 Nancy Hyatt Liddle Prize goes to Alice Oldfather for her photography piece Surfaces 1-10 (The Egg, Agency 2, NYS Capitol, Corning Tower, Agency 3, Agency 4, Justice Building, Legislative Office Building, NYS Museum, Agency 1).

The Nancy Lawton “Committee Prize” is named in honor of Nancy Lawton, a nationally renowned artist who lived on Willett Street.  She passed away in 2007 and the prize was established that year, with support of her husband, Dr. Richard Enemark and children, Faith and Forrest.  Her art legacy lives on in collections at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Smithsonian, the Art Institute of Chicago, and our own Albany Institute of History and Art.  In 2016, self portrait was included in the Albany Institute’s show “Masterworks: 225 Years of Collecting.”  The 2016 Nancy Lawton Committee Choice Award goes to Matt Malette for his colored pencil, watercolor Half Past Eights

The Dean Moore Prize is named for a BUILT artist, Dean Moore, who passed away in 2014. His family wishes to honor his memory and his family pick their favorite piece every year. It’s wonderful to see his whole family at the event, they bring great energy and two generations attend!  This year’s Moore Prize winner is Wendy Allen for her work North Church Street.

Breathing Lights, a public art project chosen by the Bloomberg Philanthropies, was our partner for this year’s event and picked their favorite piece at the BUILT Show.  Han Dogan won for his multimediapiece Historic Schinnerer & Hinckle Brewery, 1852-Current, Park Avenue, Albany, NY.

The National Trust for Historic Preservation was a BUILT sponsor for the first time this year and we were joined by two colleagues who picked their favorite Just Ask For Barb, by Carl Johnson. It was wonderful to have our colleagues from Washington, DC visit and participate!

Thank you to all of our artist prize sponsors!

Thank you to our 2016 BUILT Artists!

Wendy Allen

Kim Alvarez

Marty Bannan

Duane Barker

Aaron Barker

Gabriela Bartlett

Deborah Bayly

Monique Bidell

David Brickman

Laura Brodsky

Albert Brooks


Lynne Bunnell

Margaret Carrick

Lorraine Chesin

Katherine Chwazik

Brian Cirmo

Alex Clarey

Gerald Cooley

Matt Crane

Jess Cropper-Alt

Martin Daley

Judy D'Angelo

Mike D'Attilio

Chris DeMarco

Charles DeMarco

Andrew Dines

John Docherty

Han Dogan

Treha Myth Downey

Hassan Elminyawi

Ginnie Farrell

Abraham Ferraro

Lloyd Fields

Jim Flosdorf

Connie Frisbee Houde

Paul Gallo

Myron Getman

Rebecca Giel

Betsy Gorman

Mark Gregory

Frances Gubler

Cara Hanley

Thomas Hansen

Kenneth Helm

m suzanne hicks

Gail Hinchen

David Hinchen

Sarah Holub Schrom

Mike Hotter

Justin Janik

Chelle Jenkins

Carl Johnson

Paul Jolicoeur

Kimberly Kauffman

Jay Keebler

Ralf Keihl

Linda Kindlon

Laurie Kirchman

Kevin Kuhne

Ayal Kushner

Cathy Laccetti

Sonja LaPointe

Drew Levy

Margaret Lewsey-Bromirski

Michael Lopez

Cara Macri

Daniel Madden

Maryanne Malecki

Matt Malette

Linda Marie

Kimberly Marks

Laura McCarthy

James McSparron

Chuck Miller

Mary Frances Millet

Daniel Morales

Jordan Munn

Scott Nelson Foster

Kenneth Newman

Ed O'Connell

Alice Oldfather

Cathy O'Neill

Dorothea Osborn

Dana Owens

Andrew Petruzzelli

George Plummer

Lee Pohlsander

Henric Post

Sandy Pratt

Charlotte Prior

Kenneth Ragsdale

Jennifer Richard-Morrow

Laura Saffares

Karen Bauer Schmidt

Karen Schupack

Peter Sisario

Laura Skochko

Jordan Stern

K. Velis Turan

Adam Van Buren

Sharlene Vanderbilt

Rose Viggiani

Richard Vitkay

Capt Glen Von Wergers

Cheryle Webber

Meredith Weill

Thomas Williams